Tue 29th Jul 2014 | Last updated: Mon 28th Jul 2014 at 16:55pm

Facebook Logo Twitter Logo RSS Logo
Hot Topics

Authors

Fr Alexander Lucie-Smith

Fr Alexander Lucie-Smith

Alexander Lucie-Smith is a Catholic priest, doctor of moral theology and consulting editor of The Catholic Herald. On Twitter he is @ALucieSmith

What are we Catholics doing about poverty?

Work and pensions secretary Iain Duncan Smith

The economic question remains the biggest one of the age

My banned list of 10 Church buzzwords

Star Wars characters wear robes. Priests wear vestments

Fr Alexander Lucie-Smith urges Catholics to throw out jargon and communicate the truth simply and directly

What would Palmerston have made of the bullying of Salman Rushdie?

What's the point of being a British citizen if the Government won't protect you?  PatrickMcMullan.com via AP Images

When a British citizen is threatened by a foreign lynch mob, surely the Government has a role to play?

How the EU has doomed Scottish independence

The man who killed Scottish independence?    AP Photo/Virginia Mayo

If Scotland left the United Kingdom it would automatically leave the European Union, says EU parliament

The Last Night of the Proms would have made Count Roger proud

Joseph Calleja performs at the Last Night Of The Proms (Photo: PA)

The great Maltese tenor Joseph Calleja was a treat for Prom listeners on Saturday

A 21st-century Evelyn Waugh shows the flaws of the Enlightenment

AN Wilson: A comic novelist in the vein of Waugh and Wodehouse

AN Wilson’s first novel for five years is a major event

The Church must challenge the idea that life on earth always ends with heaven

Michelangelo's Last Judgment (CNS photo)

The drama of salvation is one in which we all play a part, whether we like it or not

Don’t believe what you’ve read about Cardinal Martini’s last interview

Cardinal Martini after celebrating his final Mass as Archbishop of Milan in 2002 (AP)

The cardinal was calling for a religious revival, not for the abolition of unpopular Church teachings

Tanzania’s vanishing Greek community is a parable of the failures of modern Africa

The sun sets over Mawenzi Peak on Mount Kilimanjaro (AP Photo/Laura Rauch)

At last, an author who grasps how strange and sophisticated the continent really is

Why did the Arabs thrive while the Huns and Avars died out? Islam

Mideast Saudi Arabia Hajj

Last night’s documentary on the birth of Islam illustrates how powerful religion made Arabic culture