Fri 24th Oct 2014 | Last updated: Fri 24th Oct 2014 at 12:34pm

Facebook Logo Twitter Logo RSS Logo
Hot Topics

Authors

Fr Alexander Lucie-Smith

Fr Alexander Lucie-Smith

Alexander Lucie-Smith is a Catholic priest, doctor of moral theology and consulting editor of The Catholic Herald. On Twitter he is @ALucieSmith

The road to totalitarianism begins in Ekaterinburg

Stalin smiles at the Teheran Conference, Iran, in 1943 (AP Photo)

So how could a Stalin apologist be a ‘tireless agitator for a better world’?

The management of the Vatican needs to catch up with the world

Compared to other tourist attractions, the Vatican is badly-run Photo:  Pier Paolo Cito/AP/Press Association Images

Never mind Vatileaks, the management of the Vatican museum needs to change

Personal choice does not trump right and wrong

Megan Stammers' mother Danielle Wilson and stepfather Martin Stammers Photo: Clive Gee/PA Wire

As the sad cases of teacher-pupil affairs show, abandonment of traditional morality leads us to tragic incoherence

Jesus Christ (and Mary Magdalene) still mean something to people in Britain

Melanie C   Photo: Ian West/PA Wire/Press Association Images

We should see hope in people’s longing for the spiritual

What are we Catholics doing about poverty?

Work and pensions secretary Iain Duncan Smith

The economic question remains the biggest one of the age

My banned list of 10 Church buzzwords

Star Wars characters wear robes. Priests wear vestments

Fr Alexander Lucie-Smith urges Catholics to throw out jargon and communicate the truth simply and directly

What would Palmerston have made of the bullying of Salman Rushdie?

What's the point of being a British citizen if the Government won't protect you?  PatrickMcMullan.com via AP Images

When a British citizen is threatened by a foreign lynch mob, surely the Government has a role to play?

How the EU has doomed Scottish independence

The man who killed Scottish independence?    AP Photo/Virginia Mayo

If Scotland left the United Kingdom it would automatically leave the European Union, says EU parliament

The Last Night of the Proms would have made Count Roger proud

Joseph Calleja performs at the Last Night Of The Proms (Photo: PA)

The great Maltese tenor Joseph Calleja was a treat for Prom listeners on Saturday

A 21st-century Evelyn Waugh shows the flaws of the Enlightenment

AN Wilson: A comic novelist in the vein of Waugh and Wodehouse

AN Wilson’s first novel for five years is a major event