Catholic Herald logo
Menu
Joseph Calleja performs at the Last Night Of The Proms (Photo: PA)

The great Maltese tenor Joseph Calleja was a treat for Prom listeners on Saturday

AN Wilson: A comic novelist in the vein of Waugh and Wodehouse

AN Wilson’s first novel for five years is a major event

Michelangelo's Last Judgment (CNS photo)

The drama of salvation is one in which we all play a part, whether we like it or not

Cardinal Martini after celebrating his final Mass as Archbishop of Milan in 2002 (AP)

The cardinal was calling for a religious revival, not for the abolition of unpopular Church teachings

The sun sets over Mawenzi Peak on Mount Kilimanjaro (AP Photo/Laura Rauch)

At last, an author who grasps how strange and sophisticated the continent really is

Mideast Saudi Arabia Hajj

Last night’s documentary on the birth of Islam illustrates how powerful religion made Arabic culture

St Augustine played by Franco Nero in a new film of his life called Restless Heart (Photo: CNS)

His book Confessions is proof that the human heart does not change much over the years

Naked Harry pictures published

When the royal family start to behave like ordinary people, they will cease to represent us

Dom Mintoff in 1972 (Photo: AP)

A friend to Mao, Gaddafi and the Khmer Rouge, he was no harmless eccentric, and knew when to send in his thugs

Russia Punks vs Putin

Among the victims of the Putin-Orthodox alliance are Russia’s Catholic minority