More than 50 new students at Liverpool Hope University have been awarded foundation scholarships

More than 50 new students at Liverpool Hope University have been awarded foundation scholarships, during a commencement ceremony to mark the beginning of their academic journey.

The successful students, who come from 20 different faith schools and colleges across the country, received their awards in Hope Chapel, at the university’s main campus in Childwall, Liverpool, joined by family and friends.


Liverpool Hope has created a number of foundation scholarships, worth £500 per year, in acknowledgement of its shared foundations with partner and church schools and colleges. Scholars are nominated by their own school or college and are awarded for each year of study.

Also presented was “the Sister Julie Billiart Foundation Scholarship” which was funded through the generosity of alumni of Notre Dame college, one of the university’s founding colleges. The scholarship, also worth £500 per year, was awarded to student Sara Munroe from St Julie’s Catholic high school, Woolton. Sister Julie was the first superior general of the Congregation of the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur, who have always had the teaching and education of Catholic girls at the heart of their mission.

Foundation scholarship recipients have come from schools across the country including the following: Aquinas College, Manchester, Archbishop Blanch, Barrow sixth form college, Bellerive FCJ Catholic college, Broughton Hall, Cardinal Heenan Catholic high school, Cardinal Heenan college, Preston, Cardinal Newman college, Carmel college, Holy Cross sixth form college, Maricourt Catholic high school, Savio Salestian college, St Anselm’s college, St Edwards college, St Francis Xavier’s college, St Hilda’s Church of England high school, St John Rigby college, Warrington, St Julie’s Catholic high school, St Margaret’s Church of England high school, St Mary’s Catholic college, Wallasey, St Mary’s college, Upton Hall school, Wirral.

Liverpool Hope University is Europe’s only ecumenical university. Its foundation colleges – the Sisters of Notre Dame and Christ’s colleges (Roman Catholic) and St Katherine’s College (Church of England) – joined in an ecumenical federation in 1980. The ecumenical college called Liverpool Hope was founded in 1995.


Screen Shot 2015-11-25 at 10.03.00