Sat 1st Nov 2014 | Last updated: Fri 31st Oct 2014 at 16:19pm

Facebook Logo Twitter Logo RSS Logo

The week ahead

Daily readings: December 26 – January 8

Scripture readings in the Ordinary and Extraordinary Forms

By on Friday, 24 December 2010

Ordinary Form

Divine Office Week I

Monday, December 27: St John, Apostle, Evangelist 1 Jn 1:1-4; Ps 97; Jn 20:1a and 2-8
Tuesday, December 28: The Holy Innocents, Martyrs 1 Jn 1:5-2:2; Ps 124; Mt 2:13-18
Wednesday, December 29: 5th day of Christmas Octave, St Thomas à Becket, Bishop, Martyr 1 Jn 2:3-11; Ps 96; Lk 2:22-35
Thursday, December 30: Sixth day of Christmas Octave 1 Jn 2:12-17; Ps 96; Lk 2:36-40
Friday, December 31: Seventh day of Christmas Octave, St Sylvester I, Pope 1 Jn 2:18-21; Ps 96; Jn 1:1-18
Saturday, January 1: Mary Mother of God Nm 6:22-27; Ps 67; Gal 4:4-7; Lk 2:16-21

Extraordinary Form

Sunday, December 26: Sunday in the Octave of Christmas Galatians 4:1-7; Luke 2:33-40
Monday, December 27: St John, apostle and evangelist Ecclesiasticus 15:1-6; John 21:19-24
Tuesday, December 28: Holy Innocents, martyrs Apocalypse 14:1-5; Matthew 2:13-18
Wednesday, December 29: St Thomas, bishop and martyr Hebrews 5:1-6; John 10:11-16
Thursday, December 30: Sixth day in the Octave of Christmas Titus 3:4-7; Luke 2:15-20
Friday, December 31: Seventh day in the Octave of Christmas Readings of yesterday repeated Saturday, January 1: Octave Day of Christmas Titus 2: 11-15; Luke 2: 21

Compiled by Gordon Dimon, Senior MC of the Latin Mass Society

Ordinary Form

Divine Office Week II
Monday, January 3: Weekday after Epiphany or Most Holy Name of Jesus 1 Jn 3:22–4:6; Ps 2; Mt 4:12-17, 23-25
Tuesday, January 4: Weekday after Epiphany 1 Jn 4:7-10; Ps 72; Mk 6:34-44
Wednesday, January 5: Weekday after Epiphany 1 Jn 4:11-18; Ps 72; Mk 6:45-52
Thursday, January 6: Weekday after Epiphany 1 Jn 4:19–5:4; Ps 72; Lk 4:14-22
Friday, January 7: Weekday after Epiphany or St Raymond of Peñafort, Priest 1 Jn 5:5-13; Ps 147; Lk 5:12-16
Saturday, January 8: Weekday after Epiphany 1 Jn 5:14-21; Ps 149; Jn 3:22-30

Extraordinary Form

Sunday, January 2: External Solemnity of the Epiphany Isaias 60:1-6; Matthew 2:1-12
Monday, January 3: Feria Titus 2:11-15; Luke 2:21
Tuesday, January 4: Feria Readings of Monday repeated Wednesday, January 5: Feria Readings of Monday repeated
Thursday, January 6: Epiphany Readings of External Solemnity of Epiphany repeated
Friday, January 7: Feria Readings of External Solemnity of Epiphany repeated
Saturday, January 8: Our Lady’s Saturday Titus 3: 4-7; Luke 2:15-20
Compiled by Gordon Dimon, Senior MC of the Latin Mass Society