Wed 23rd Apr 2014 | Last updated: Wed 23rd Apr 2014 at 16:21pm

Facebook Logo Twitter Logo RSS Logo
Hot Topics

The week ahead

Daily readings: December 25 – January 7

Scripture readings in the Ordinary and Extraordinary Forms

By on Saturday, 24 December 2011

Ordinary Form

Divine Office Week I

Sunday, December 25: The Nativity of the Lord
Is 52:7-10; Ps 98; Heb 1:1-6; Jn 1:1-18 or 1:1-5, 9-14
Monday, December 26: St Stephen, the first martyr
Acts 6:8-10; 7:54-59; Ps 31;
Mt 10:17-22
Tuesday, December 27: St John, Apostle, Evangelist
1 Jn 1:1-4; Ps 97; Jn 20:1-8
Wednesday, December 28: The Holy Innocents, martyrs
1 Jn 1:5 – 2:2; Ps 124; Mt 2:13-18
Thursday, December 29: St Thomas à Becket, bishop, martyr
1 Jn 2:3-11; Ps 96; Lk 2:22-35
Friday, December 30: The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph
Sir 3:2-7, 12-14; Ps 128:1-5 Col 3:12-21 or 3:12-17; Lk 2:22-40
Saturday, December 31: St Sylvester I, Pope
1 Jn 2:18-21; Ps 96:1-2, 11-13;
Jn 1:1-18

Divine Office Week II

Sunday, January 1: Mary, the Holy Mother of God
Nm 6:22-27; Ps 67; Gal 4:4-7;
Lk 2:16-21
Monday, January 2: Ss Basil the Great and Gregory Nazianzen
1 Jn 2:22-28; Ps 98; Jn 1:19-28
Tuesday, January 3: Weekday of Christmas or Most Holy Name of Jesus
1 Jn 2:29-3:6; Ps 98; Jn 1:29-34
Wednesday, January 4: Weekday of Christmas
1 Jn 3:7-10; Ps 98; Jn 1:35-42
Thursday, January 5: Weekday of Christmas
1 Jn 3:11-21; Ps 100; Jn 1:43-51
Friday, January 6: Weekday of Christmas
1 Jn 5:5-13; Ps 147; Mk 1:7-11
Saturday, January 7: Weekday of Christmas or St Raymond of Peñafort
1 Jn 5:14-21; Ps 149; Jn 2:1-11

Extraordinary Form

Sunday, December 25: Christmas Day
Midnight Mass Titus 2:11-15; Luke 2:1-14
Dawn Mass Titus 3:4-7; Luke 2:15-20
Day Mass Hebrews 1:1-12; John 1:1-14
Monday, December 26: St Stephen, protomartyr
Acts 6:8-10, 7:54-60; Matthew 23:34-39
Tuesday, December 27: St John, Apostle and evangelist
Ecclesiasticus 15:1-6; John 21:19-24
Wednesday, December 28: Holy Innocents, martyrs
Apocalypse 14:1-5; Matthew 2:13-18
Thursday, December 29: St Thomas, bishop and martyr
Hebrews 5:1-6; John 10:11-16
Friday, December 30: Sixth day in the Octave of Christmas
Readings of Christmas Dawn Mass repeated
Saturday, December 31: Seventh day in the Octave of Christmas
Readings of Christmas Dawn Mass repeated

Sunday, January 1: Octave Day of Christmas
Titus 2:11-15; Luke 2: 21
Monday, January 2: Holy Name of Jesus
Acts 4:8-12; Luke 2:21
Tuesday, January 3: Feria
Reading of the Octave Day of Christmas repeated
Wednesday, January 4: Feria
Reading of the Octave Day of Christmas repeated
Thursday, January 5: Feria
Reading of the Octave Day of Christmas repeated
Friday, January 6: Epiphany
Isaias 60:1-6; Matthew 2:1-12
Saturday, January 7: Our Lady’s
Saturday
Titus 3:4-7; Luke 2:15-20

Compiled by Gordon Dimon, Senior MC of the Latin Mass Society