Fri 24th Oct 2014 | Last updated: Fri 24th Oct 2014 at 11:16am

Facebook Logo Twitter Logo RSS Logo
Hot Topics

The week ahead

Daily readings: December 23 – January 5

Scripture readings in the Ordinary and Extraordinary Forms

By on Friday, 21 December 2012

Ordinary Form

Divine Office Week IV

Sunday, December 23: Fourth Sunday of Advent
Mi 5:1-4; Ps 80; Heb 10:5-10;
Lk 1:39-45
Monday, December 24: Weekday of Advent
2 Sm 7:1-5, 8-12, 14, 16; Ps 89;
Lk 1:67-79
Tuesday, December 25: The Nativity of the Lord
Is 52:7-10; Ps 98; Heb 1:1-6; Jn 1:1-18 or 1:1-5, 9-14
Wednesday, December 26: St Stephen, the first Martyr
Acts 6:8-10; 7:54-59; Ps 31; Mt 10:17-22
Thursday, December 27: St John, Apostle, Evangelist
1 Jn 1:1-4; Ps 97; Jn 20:1-8
Friday, December 28: The Holy Innocents, martyrs
1 Jn 1:5 – 2:2; Psalm 124; Mt 2:13-18
Saturday, December 29: Fifth day of Christmas Octave, St Thomas à Becket, bishop, martyr
1 Jn 2:3-11; Ps 96; Lk 2:22-35

Divine Office Week I

Sunday, December 30: The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph
Sir 3:2-7, 12-14; Ps 128; Col 3:12-21 or 3:12-17; Lk 2:22-40 or 2:22, 39-40
Monday, December 31: Seventh day of Christmas Octave, St Sylvester I, Pope
1 Jn 2:18-21; Ps 96; Jn 1:1-18
Tuesday, January 1: Mary, the Holy Mother of God
Nm 6:22-27; Ps 67; Gal 4:4-7;
Lk 2:16-21
Wednesday, January 2: Ss Basil the Great and Gregory Nazianzen, bishops, Doctors of the Church
1 Jn 2:22-28; Ps 98; Jn 1:19-28
Thursday, January 3: Weekday of Christmas or Most Holy Name of Jesus
1 Jn 2:29–3:61; Ps 98; Jn 1:29-34
Friday, January 4: Weekday of Christmas
1 Jn 3:7-10; Ps 98; Jn 1:35-42
Saturday, January 5: Weekday of Christmas
1 Jn 3:11-21; Ps 100; Jn 1:43-51

Extraordinary Form

Sunday, December 23: Fourth Sunday of Advent
1 Corinthians 4:1-5; Luke 3:1-6
Monday, December 24: Christmas Eve
Romans 1:1-6; Matthew 1:18-21
Tuesday, December 25: Christmas Day
Midnight Mass: Titus 2:11-15; Luke 2:1-14
Dawn Mass: Titus 3:4-7; Luke 2:15-20
Day Mass: Hebrews 1:1-12; John 1:1-14
Wednesday, December 26: St Stephen, Protomartyr
Acts 6:8-10, 7:54-60; Matthew 23:34-39
Thursday, December 27: St John, Apostle and evangelist
Ecclesiasticus 15:1-6; John 21:19-24
Friday, December 28: Holy Innocents, martyrs
Apocalypse 14:1-5; Matthew 2:13-18
Saturday, December 29: St Thomas, bishop and martyr
Hebrews 5:1-6; John 10:11-16

Sunday, December 30: Sunday in the Octave of Christmas
Galatians 4:1-7; Luke 2:33-40
Monday, December 31: Seventh day in the Octave of Christmas
Titus 3:4-7; Luke 2:15-20
Tuesday, January 1 2013: Octave Day of Christmas
Titus 2: 11-15; Luke 2: 21
Wednesday, January 2: Holy Name of Jesus
Acts 4:8-12; Luke 2:21
Thursday, January 3: Feria
Reading of the Octave Day of Christmas repeated
Friday, January 4: Feria
Reading of the Octave Day of Christmas repeated
Saturday, January 5: Our Lady’s Saturday
Titus 3: 4-7; Luke 2:15-20

Compiled by Gordon Dimon, Senior MC of the Latin Mass Society