Wed 17th Sep 2014 | Last updated: Tue 16th Sep 2014 at 19:31pm

Facebook Logo Twitter Logo RSS Logo
Hot Topics

The week ahead

Daily readings: August 25-31

Scripture readings in the Ordinary and Extraordinary Forms

By on Thursday, 22 August 2013

Ordinary Form

Divine Office Week I

Sunday, August 25: 21st Sunday in
Ordinary Time
Is 66:18-21; Ps 117; Lk 13:22-30
Monday, August 26: Weekday in Ordinary Time or Blessed Dominic Barberi, priest or St David Lewis, priest, martyr
1 Thes 1:1-5, 8B-10; Ps 149; Mt 23:13-22
Tuesday, August 27: St Monica
1 Thes 2:1-8; Ps 139; Mt 23:23-26
Wednesday, August 28: St Augustine, bishop, Doctor of the Church
1 Thes 2:9-13; Ps 139; Mt 23:27-32
Thursday, August 29: The Passion of St John the Baptist
1 Thes 3:7-13; Ps 90; Mk 6:17-29
Friday, August 30: Weekday in Ordinary Time or Ss Margaret Clitherow, Anne Line and Margaret Ward, martyrs
1 Thes 4:1-8 Ps 97; Mt 25:1-13
Saturday, August 31: Weekday in Ordinary Time or St Aidan, bishop, and Saints of Lindisfarne
1 Thes 4:9-11 Ps 98; Mt 25:14-30

Extraordinary Form

Sunday, August 25: 14th Sunday after Pentecost
Galatians 5:16-24; Matthew 6:24-33
Monday, August 26: Feria
Readings of Fourteenth Sunday after Pentecost repeated
Tuesday, August 27: St Joseph Calasanctius, Confessor
Wisdom 10:10-14; Matthew 18:1-5
Wednesday, August 28: St Augustine bishop, confessor & doctor
2 Timothy 4:1-8; Matthew 5:13-19
Thursday, August 29: Beheading of St John the Baptist
Jeremias 1:17-19; Mark 6:17-29
Friday, August 30: St Rose of Lima virgin
2 Corinthians 10:17-11:2; Matthew 25:1-13
Saturday, August 31: St Raymond Nonnatus, confessor
Ecclesiasticus 31:8-11; Luke 12:35-40