Catholic Herald logo
Menu
Former Archbishop of Canterbury, Lord Carey (PA) Below: 'Anglicans and Christians might as well be 'talking on the moon' (Christian Adams)

Buildings can decay, religious communities die but each generation invariably throws up new holy people who run with the torch of the Christian faith

Mick and Mairead Philpott (Photo: PA)

Without the welfare state, he says, Philpott would have been ‘decently employed’. Maybe it’s more likely he would still have been a criminal?

AN Wilson: A comic novelist in the vein of Waugh and Wodehouse

AN Wilson’s first novel for five years is a major event

Is Belloc best forgotten?

The Catholic writer is nowadays neglected, but much of his writing is florid, dull and unreadable

Pope Benedict XVI is pictured during the Angelus yesterday (Alessandra Tarantino/AP/Press Association Images)

Morning Catholic must-reads: 15/11/10

A daily guide to what’s happening in the Catholic Church