Catholic Herald logo
Menu
The Prince of Wales looks at traditional food in the old town of Al Ula in north west Saudi Arabia, on the fifth day of his tour to the Middle East (PA)

Queen Victoria would have approved of the Prince’s defending the faith – up to a point

The BBC's documentary on Lewis

The BBC’s documentary about the Christian apologist proved short-sighted at times

Former Archbishop of Canterbury, Lord Carey (PA) Below: 'Anglicans and Christians might as well be 'talking on the moon' (Christian Adams)

Buildings can decay, religious communities die but each generation invariably throws up new holy people who run with the torch of the Christian faith

Mick and Mairead Philpott (Photo: PA)

Without the welfare state, he says, Philpott would have been ‘decently employed’. Maybe it’s more likely he would still have been a criminal?

AN Wilson: A comic novelist in the vein of Waugh and Wodehouse

AN Wilson’s first novel for five years is a major event

Is Belloc best forgotten?

The Catholic writer is nowadays neglected, but much of his writing is florid, dull and unreadable

Pope Benedict XVI is pictured during the Angelus yesterday (Alessandra Tarantino/AP/Press Association Images)

Morning Catholic must-reads: 15/11/10

A daily guide to what’s happening in the Catholic Church