Catholic Herald logo
Menu
Evelyn Waugh (PA)

Waugh was as politically incorrect as it is possible to be

The Resurrection by Lucas Cranach (1558)

The Church must remind us again about the certainty of death

There is no reason  why a coffin cannot be driven up to a crematorium  without ceremony (PA)

We human beings are ceremonial animals and funerals are vital, even for the non-religious

Hilary Mantel (PA)

Fashions have changed meaning literature and the Church are no longer comfortable bedfellows

'It is, unfortunately, too late for the New Missal; it will be many years before we can think of replacing it with a new version' (PA)

There is now only one solution: permission must be given for the use of other authorised translations for the readings

‘Glib writers chose to see in Pope Francis’s comments a papal white flag’ (AP)

Despite the enthusiasm of the left wing media, the Pope is not abandoning the traditional battlements of Catholicism

AN Wilson: A comic novelist in the vein of Waugh and Wodehouse

AN Wilson’s first novel for five years is a major event

The sun sets over Mawenzi Peak on Mount Kilimanjaro (AP Photo/Laura Rauch)

At last, an author who grasps how strange and sophisticated the continent really is

Evelyn Waugh and his wife pictured in 1950 (Photo: PA)

I like to think he would have approved of Mass in the Ordinary Form, too, now that we have an accurate translation

Rufus Sewell and Kate Beckinsale star in Cold Comfort Farm, the 1995 adaptation of the novel

Believers ought not to be self-obsessed, but novels are about self-obsession