Catholic Herald logo
Menu
Catherine of Aragon: Henry's lawyers used Ockham

The copy of work on the theories of William of Ockham was found in a National Trust building

Why do people assume that white-coated scientists are simply neutral – or benign - in the work they do, asks Francis Phillips (PA)

We have come to think that all scientific breakthroughs and discoveries must be viewed as ‘progress’

Anton Lesser as St Thomas More in Wolf Hall

Bishop Mark Davies says ‘one of the greatest Englishmen’ has been presented as ‘a scheming villain’

Thomas Cromwell depicted in Wolf Hall: his monastery closures cut off charitable lifelines

Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall propagates the myth that Britain became great once it had ditched Catholicism

Hilary Mantel (PA)

Fashions have changed meaning literature and the Church are no longer comfortable bedfellows

Pope Francis (AP)

The widespread appeal of Pope Francis, named Time magazine’s Person of the Year for 2013, must not be wasted

Hilary Mantel is the first British writer to win the Man Booker Prize twice (Photo: PA)

Congratulations to Hilary Mantel

The twice-winner of the Man Booker Prize has found new riches in the otherwise exhausted seam of Tudor history

AN Wilson: A comic novelist in the vein of Waugh and Wodehouse

AN Wilson’s first novel for five years is a major event

Britain Hilary Mantel

As Mother Teresa of Calcutta showed, the Church is for the unloved and the rejected