Catholic Herald logo
Menu
Hilary Mantel (PA)

Fashions have changed meaning literature and the Church are no longer comfortable bedfellows

Pope Francis (AP)

The widespread appeal of Pope Francis, named Time magazine’s Person of the Year for 2013, must not be wasted

Hilary Mantel is the first British writer to win the Man Booker Prize twice (Photo: PA)

Congratulations to Hilary Mantel

The twice-winner of the Man Booker Prize has found new riches in the otherwise exhausted seam of Tudor history

AN Wilson: A comic novelist in the vein of Waugh and Wodehouse

AN Wilson’s first novel for five years is a major event

Britain Hilary Mantel

As Mother Teresa of Calcutta showed, the Church is for the unloved and the rejected