Catholic Herald logo
Menu
AN Wilson: A comic novelist in the vein of Waugh and Wodehouse

AN Wilson’s first novel for five years is a major event

Is Belloc best forgotten?

The Catholic writer is nowadays neglected, but much of his writing is florid, dull and unreadable

Peter Mandelson was lauded by the Times last week as a national treasure (Photo: PA)

Here are five simple criteria for anyone wishing to achieve national treasure status. Prince Philip makes it; Peter Mandelson and Stephen Fry do not